A Year from Today, You’ll Wish You Started Today

Man, that title hits the nail on the head on how I feel today.  I wish I started a (several) year(s) ago. I think about the “what if’s”.  What if I actually ate what I needed to eat?  What if I stuck to a workout plan?  What if I actually believed in myself?  Those “what if’s” suck.  And then I realize that those “what if’s” aren’t going to help with the “right now’s”  Right now, I’m doing the Advocare 24 day Challenge.  Right now, I am working out (running/spinning/weight lifting) 3-4 days a week.  Right now, I’m eating probably 60/40 and will continue to creep closer to eating 80/20.  Right now, I am going to start believing I can lose the weight.  Right now, I am not where I was a year ago.  And right now, one of the things that I know I’m going to struggle with is traveling.

Today (well technically last night) is my first day traveling since I started the Advocare 24 day Challenge.  The last time I attempted this, I struggled.  Hard.  But this time around, it seems to be easier. I worked with my coach/friend Jess on putting together little baggies.  Organizing each day into one little ziplock baggie helps (yes I am a 12 yr old child).  Then also packing extra Spark and the meal replacement shakes (MOCHA CHOCOLATE!!!).  I was worried that I was going to get stopped by TSA (one of my friends was stopped on his way to FL because they thought it was drugs.. haha the illegal kind). Thankfully I wasn’t. 🙂

The hardest part of traveling was the eating out all the time.  I would pick the worst dishes at every meal.  So I sat down and started working out what I should be eating.  Breakfast should be easy – Marriot hotels provide a hot breakfast which would consist of eggs, bacon/ham/sausage, and an assortment of cereal, breads, muffins, etc.  I decided doing a protein and fruit only breakfasts. Lunches will be salads with some type of protein OR some type of protein/veggie combo. Dinners are where I will allow myself some type of carb along with a protein/veggie.  While my eating still needs to be worked on (eating out all the time is tough) I am remembering to take the supplements and also getting in the 5 “meals” (I break up the meal replacement shake into two snacks).  I might start replacing dinner, when I’m not out with the team, with a meal replacement shake.  It might just make it easier and keep the calorie count down.

As for the workouts,  I decided that I needed to start using the hotel gym.  Running outside isn’t really a good idea since I’m not too familiar with the area.  I am going to do the 15-20 mins workouts via Nike Training App and 30-45 mins on the treadmill or elliptical.  I am going to say I am going to pledge to do this 2 out of the four nights I travel and then when I’m home, I’ll be dedicating one workout session with my trainer (FrankieFit… I still need a new nickname for him).

Now some fun stuff. Two of my co-workers have gone into two fitness challenges with me.

1-  The first challenge is that I need to lose 30 lbs before our company meeting and my co-worker will buy me a beer (hahaha food reward).  I started this bet about 45 days ago.  I still need to lose about 20ish lbs (depend son the day and my salt intake…)  Challenge end date is Sept 30th.  I am basically going to need to do cardio almost every day till then.  womp womp woommmppp.

2- Then the second challenge is to lose 80lbs by our company’s Spring Trip.  The reward is we get new outfits and will dance on the Coyote Ugly bar (I will put pics and MAYBE videos.)  Challenge end date: Approx mid April.

I am pretty excited.  It adds to fuel to the fire. Helps me gain confidence in myself that I can do this.

So while I wished I started a year (or several years ago), I am where I am right now.  And right now, I’m going to kill those calories.

MG

Leave a Reply

